New Forest

“We do not see nature with our eyes, but with our understandings and our hearts.” –William Hazlett

I love city life especially in London however I greatly appreciate the opportunity to get outdoors and to be one in nature. Fresh breeze, clean air, changing colours and getting lost are four main reasons I like it . So far on my European journey, I have made it a daily ritual to get outside and appreciate just how beautiful nature really is. I need to hear running water (also a reason why I love baths so much) I walked for hours along the river in Lyon as the water flowed and the buildings changed, the little stream at Labastide-Esparbairenque where I found a space to sit and just listen to the power of water and in New Forest where I found little streams and creeks meet which made the a powerful sound.

I arrived to the New Forest with my friend AK from London. The train trip only took an hour and half although waiting at the train crossing to foot path seemed to take longer! New Forest just west of Southampton in south-west Hampshire. We arrived at our hotel and I was amazed to see horses, ponies and donkeys roaming free through the ground of the hotel. We went for a brisk walk as the sun was setting and quickly turned to darkness.

The next morning we hired mountain bikes for our day of adventure! Riding through the forest, getting lost (only once or twice) AK was a great navigator and I did not have any Bridget Jones’ moments of falling in the mud! It was beautiful, I hugged tress, I squished in the mud and rode a shabby 30km through forest paths, main roads, tracks, hidden lane ways and main roads (I survived the last part). We had a yummy lunch at one of the little pubs along the way to Beaulieu. It was definitely ‘fresh’ riding through the lanes but the beautiful scenery was breath taking. I finally mastered riding and observing the surroundings around me without falling off my bike. Win!

The next few days were spent exploring and relaxing around New Forest and down to South Hampton for dinner by the sea. I had a wonderful few days spent laughing, being in nature and exploring the beauty of the England. Thanks to my good friend AK who put up with my laughter and tree hugging. 🙂

“Keep close to Nature’s heart… and break clear away, once in a while, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean.” –John Muir

❤ Sully

Posted by

An artist, a cook, an inspirer, a writer and a yoga lover who is traveling the world.

Leave a Reply

